She used to call me “sugar blossom”…

via Daily Prompt: Blossom

My Mother always used to call me sugar blossom. I’m not even sure what a sugar blossom is. When I was growing up, we didn’t have Google to run to. Now my Mom is in the throes of Alzheimer’s, which quite frankly, I wouldn’t wish on my worst fucking enemy. It is difficult to watch, difficult to think about, just plain difficult. I usually don’t even bring it up, never mind write about it. But something about the word blossom inspired me to do so. My Mother is the kindest, gentlest person I have ever met. She never had an unkind word to say about anyone. In the midst of these brutal days where the societal knee jerk is ripping everyone to shreds, while judging them mercilessly, we could use more people like my Mom. Thankfully, the Alzheimer’s has not changed her personality. She is still that gentle soul. Laughing, hugging and kissing all of the aides at her nursing home. She dances to Sinatra and eats ice cream with delight. And some days when that window to the past fleetingly appears, she remembers me just a bit, the kindest, gentlest woman I’ve ever met.

Blossom

2 thoughts on “She used to call me “sugar blossom”…

  1. Alzheimer’s is tough. It’s difficult to watch. Your mother has always been sweet, kind and welcoming to me. My mother passed away with Alzheimer’s. At the time of her death she had become a person I did not know; an awful memory. Feel happy everyday which the presence of her happy spirit. You are blessed by it! šŸ’œ

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m sorry to hear that Lynette. I imagine that must have been really painful. šŸ˜¦ Thank you for the kind words about my Mom. I know a lot of the cousins enjoyed her gentle nature…being so different from the Nicotera clan! Hahaha

      Like

Leave a Reply

