“Is This Real Life?”

via Daily Prompt: Farce

What a farce, the whole thing is. I was driving on the highway last night, riding up to see some friends from high school and I thought to myself, “How real is any of this?” I have had several conversations about death recently. Not dire, not depressing, just intellectual. Sharing experiences, feelings, and thoughts on the whole thing. And as I was driving up 95, the sun was shining, the music was blaring and I couldn’t help but wonder how real it all really is? As we don’t know what comes next, how do we know what’s going on now? I’ve adopted a new rule for myself to lower my stress levels. The rule is simply do not stress. I can’t control any of this. I can’t control the weather, I can’t control the uncertainty and I can’t control the chaos. So instead, I’m just focusing on what I can control, myself. My own happiness lies within me, like it lies within all of us. Why waste time doing anything else? Especially when it’s all a farce.

Farce

Leave a Reply

