Let the Light Win

via Daily Prompt: Glitter

“All that glitters is not gold”. I wonder who said that? I guess I should look it up. It’s getting harder and harder to imagine life without Google, even though I’ve lived way more than half my life without it. I do believe that the Internet is simultaneously the best and worst thing to ever happen to humanity. On the bright side, it has leveled the playing field for endeavors such as putting out your own music, films, books and the like. It has also played a pretty big role in the name of activism. If you are up to no good, there is no longer a place to hide. That is also the bridge to the dark side. There is no place to hide from it. When I was younger, I didn’t know about the bad, creepy, inhumane stuff that happened two towns over. Now I hear about every negative event sprung from every dark corner of the Earth. Of course, this is all my doing and I only have myself to blame. I constantly tell myself, and those around me, “Put. the. Internet. DOWN.” I try as much as I can. What I worry about is the energy. That deep dark energy of worry and fear that comes with the depravity, the debauchery, the foul, vile, uncouth behavior being served up on the daily platter of the Internet. It seeps into our fabric of being and it changes us. That dark energy begets more dark energy. “Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that.” Martin Luther King Jr. said that one. I couldn’t remember it exactly, so I Googled it to look it up.
Glitter

Leave a Reply

