Wish I Was Ocean Size

via Daily Prompt: Ten

Ten. The first thing to come to mind is Pearl Jam’s first record, entitled “Ten”. It came out in the early 90’s and helped usher in the “Grunge Era” along with Nirvana, Soundgarden, Mudhoney and the like. This album was huge. Everyone listened to it. Everywhere. It was one of those “impact albums”. I had already experienced that and to this day I stand by my choice of the Record That Changed My Life. That record is “Nothing’s Shocking” by Jane’s Addiction. It was early college, I had an amazing group of friends and this record did not leave the turntable for months and months and months. Having come from 12 years of Catholic School, I remember those first days of college as being in a perpetual state of having my mind blown. I couldn’t believe that kids were smoking right in front of teachers for God’s sake! Let alone the late night, candle burning, whiskey drinking, sexuality blurring salons on Westland Ave. It was whole new world for this girl, one that I relished and absorbed with every cell in my body and soul. Finally, I found my people, my being, myself. I still listen to “Nothing’s Shocking” and when I do, I close my eyes and let myself time travel right back to those days, still fresh, burned in my mind forever.
Ten

Leave a Reply

