Daily Prompt: Banned

Microsoft Word - Document3

via Daily Prompt: Banned

Banned in Boston. I’m not even sure what it means, but it’s something you hear a lot up here in these parts. Or should I say these pahts. As yes, the Boston accent. In college we took a class to lose our “regionalism”. It was a communications school after all and people make assumptions when they hear you speak. We were told that it sounds ignorant. At the time, I wholeheartedly agreed and worked diligently to lose mine. It does seem a little weird, actively working to lose a part of yourself and your heritage. But then again, I left right after college and basically didn’t come back for 20 years so I guess I wasn’t that in to it in the first place. Now I’m back and I cherish my roots and where I come from. The winters, I could do without. I used to take it as such a compliment when people would say “You’re from Boston? You don’t sound like it!” Now I wear being from Beantown like a badge, it is my home after all. My southern friends found the accent charming. Others thought I was Canadian, which I find funny. We are only about 5 hours from the border, but in these current days, a world away. A whole world away.

Banned

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Banned

Leave a Reply

