Daily Prompt: Facade

desert-sunrise

via Daily Prompt: Facade

Drop the facade I keep reminding myself. Just drop it. Habits are hard to break, that is for sure. But at some point in your life, you have just got to be true to yourself. You just have to. Dig deep and find the strength to be who you are. This is me talking to me, but take it as your own as well. I didn’t anticipate how weird it would be, moving back home after all these years. The subtle transition back into who I used to be slipped right by me and the next thing you know, I was that other person. That MassGirl circa 1990, not the person I became. When I finally became aware of the fog that had quietly overtaken me and my persona, I thought, “Wait a minute! This is not me. This is not the real me. What am I doing?” So, I strapped on some courage and stepped out of the past into the now. The earth didn’t shake, the stars didn’t fall, the only thing that happened was happiness.

 

Facade

7 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Facade

  1. I second you on that. Most people are scared to take that jump of life, because they feel they will fail or they won’t make it…But the question is, if you feel you are so unhappy, don’t you think that this jump might help you find that happiness? – that’s a question to those people.

    Great post!

    Like

  2. I love this line: ” So, I strapped on some courage and stepped out of the past into the now. The earth didn’t shake, the stars didn’t fall, the only thing that happened was happiness.”

    That was inspirational, thank you 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

