“The Desert Made Me Do It” -March 2007

Okay, so we all know that curious stuff happens in the desert, especially at night, which is when I always seem to be there. My last time out was no exception. Years have passed but I still remember how odd that night was. The desert vibe pointed me toward an altered reality, yet it all seemed awfully familiar. Like, maybe I had been there at that time and space before. It was the strangest thing. For instance, I completely missed the coyote jumping out in front of us. I turned away for a second and I missed it. An image meant only for the driver, I guess. Again it was dark and we missed all the scenery. Instead we had to use our imaginations to figure it out.

We were really hauling ass this time, rolling away from the beloved West Coast. Things get peculiar in the desert. Long, flat lines give way to total darkness. We saw a tragedy on the road. It hurt my stomach. We eased by the scene in seemingly slow motion. It felt strange and weird and very, very sad, all the musings I had. Everybody has a story. He had one too. Hours went by. We kept going, greeting yet another sunrise on the move. Actually, I don’t mind, I usually sleep through most of them. Breakfast waited at the local cantina. More coffee. More talk. More eye contact. With strangers. They always assess You, The Intruder. Keep your guard up. There is unusual energy out here.

The sun shined fully on the hills. Here was a new day to heat it all up again. Our destination nowhere in sight, we stayed stubbornly on track. My mind raced as I reflected on our night. I wasn’t really sure what was going on out there, but I decided to just go with it…

Leave a Reply

